Back To School Annual Breakfast

I just want to share our fun morning with you all that we had for our first day back to school this past year. I know it’s a bit late to be posting back to school, but we’ve been busy since school started! πŸ˜‰

4

I just usually set up their back to school new supplies and make a sweet treats breakfast for them (and then they usually want eggs!) and take a few photos. I crepe paper their doors so they can bust through them when they wake up and then we just have a fun, relaxed first morning together starting our day. It eases them back into the routine. πŸ™‚

2

3

Today they had cinnamon rolls on a cake pop stick, cinnamon streusel muffins (I think we have these with every.single.celebration. Lol…it’s their fave), cherry turnovers, chocolate donuts with sprinkles, yogurt, and fruit. Don’t worry…they don’t get it ALL today (and actually, we share with neighbors, too – I’m sure they appreciate that, hah!). They get to pick one sweet and I make eggs. πŸ˜€

5

I got these cute new plates from Target and I thought they were perfect for an autumn back-to-school theme with forest animals and the orange and green colors.

7

I printed some school jokes (my son loves funnies).

6

This cardboard “chalkboard” banner is also from Target and I just used my chalk markers to put our Classical Conversations logo on it. πŸ™‚

11

I save this little chalkboard sign for our first day photos. I got it a couple of years ago and wish I could find more, but I have yet to see them again. :/ Β The gel clings they get to put on the windows and then we watch a dvd and have hot cocoa after they do their first day of school work!

10

These cute apple bags were also from Target this year. I put bubbles in them and we took a break between the school work to go outside.

I tried to get back to school supplies that pertained to our cycle we’re on this year (except the US puzzle, it was just too cute to pass). I printed some coupons they can earn with reading. My son still doesn’t want to voluntarily sit down and read unless it’s a “fun” book to him, like Captain Underpants. O.o

I just tell them an amount of minutes they have to reach reading and then they can pick one of the coupons. Working well so far!

We started our “school work” off with these annual interviews. I like to see how their answers change (or stay the same) each year. So far, their handwriting hasn’t improved much. 😦 Eeek…something to work on this year, right? πŸ™‚

17

I love having our little celebrations for days that would otherwise be ordinary or a struggle. It really helps put them in a better frame of mind to tackle the things they don’t like and put a different mood in the room for us. I love, love, love being able to stop when we need a break and do what works for us. This year seems to have been a bit easier than last year because I started a tip I read from another CC Mom and it’s working like a charm (for us!). We have breakfast, start our family devotion (I read from the devotion book and bible, they answer, I write the answers), pray, and then start 20 minutes of school work. I set the timer and they know they get a break. They get a 10-15 minute break and come back and we do 20 more minutes of work. It takes us about the same time as it was last year to get our school work done (we finish around 1:30/2), but the time spent doing the school work is completely productive. They are more eager to get it done (don’t take this for rushing through) and in a better, more positive mood about it. They don’t have as many struggles and meltdowns now and they politely have been waiting for me to help them if I am helping the other. πŸ™‚ It’s been a lot smoother and we are making progress. I know, on average, it takes 3 years to get into a homeschooling groove and adjust and now I feel like we just may get there! πŸ˜€

 

 

Leave a Reply

