DIY Dress Up Cabinet

My daughter’s collection of dress up clothes has significantly started growing as she has entered the “princess” age. You know what I’m talking about! I needed an easy, pretty solution to store her dress up clothes without them being tossed into a bin. I’ve seen a lot of posts for a few years on doing our own dress up cabinet upcycled from tv entertainment units (since the big screen tv’s are prehistoric, what else would we do with them?).

I purchased a used tv entertainment cabinet for about $5. It really needed some sprucing up! And I don’t know how long it will last, but for that price, it was worth it.

971535_10152826199705131_230883406_n

I painted a couple of coats of primer on it, a couple of coats of white paint, and later some spray sealant. Then I added some self-adhesive wall paper (on a roll at Michaels). Added some baskets and her clothes…pretty cute! Good enough for a few years, I hope. Just at least until she outgrows this stage…

983832_10152845065225131_1208869614_n

I’ve learned now that if something is worth keeping, to finish it with polycrylic, but the edges of this are a little damaged. I think if I find a better cabinet, I will do this craft again!

One thought on “DIY Dress Up Cabinet

Leave a Reply

