Learning to make tutus!

There are so many tutorials out there on how to make a tutu; I’m not going to bore you with another one, but I do want to share the ones I have made. They are so simple and if I can do it, anyone can!

408122_10152760287345131_1099037678_n

In this purple version, I did a two-tone. After you make a tutu, you just take a shorter strand of tulle, tie a knot at the end of a few tulle pieces of the tutu. It really adds volume and I love the depth of color it gives. πŸ™‚

310785_10152755285505131_929328444_n

Same idea here: make a tutu with multiple colors and then when you have, you take those colors and add strips tied in a knot at a few of the ends. I didn’t match the colors up where I added to it so that I could have a colorful birthday tutu! One of my favorites. I added some small strands of ribbon in the tulle (since it’s so fluffy, they don’t show up and I used thin, light pink ribbon) and on the ends of those strands, tied on teeny tiny colorful pastel jingle bells. Every time she twirled around, danced, or ran, it jingled and it was so cute!

309963_10152769607965131_859558196_n

Don’t mind my pouty little model! πŸ˜€ I wanted a floor length, wispy tutu for Easter, so I made this white one long. After I was done, I took apart a faux cherry blossom flower and hot glued the petals onto some of the tulle in random places. Of course, I love this one, too. Once you start making tutus, it’s hard to stop! Too bad she’s growing up on me!

Leave a Reply

